News Post

The End of Another Great Speech Season
The End of Another Great Speech Season

The Pike Speech Team ended the 2017-2018 speech season with a bang! They had a fantastic showing at Milton Academy's Foley Festival Tournament and held an outstanding Speech Showcase here at Pike.

Always a competitive tournament, the Milton Academy Foley Festival included 368 student entries from 14 different schools. 38 Pike students competed in the tournament, many of whom double entered in their events.

In addition to the results from the tournament below, two Pike students won prizes in the Massachusetts Middle League logo contest. Congratulations to eighth grader Kayla Lang for her 2nd place entry and to seventh grader Ashley Xu for her 3rd place logo design.

At the Foley Festival Tournament, all 8th graders were recognized with a single rose.

Milton Academy recognizes any competitor who earns straight first place finishes in the three preliminary rounds. Three Pike students earned this distinction at the Foley Festival:

  • 8th grader, Emilia Sanz-Rios for Free Verse/Poetry
  • 8th grader, Arnav Bhakta for Impromptu
  • 6th grader, Ayur Vallecha for Original Oratory

Congratulations to all of our students for a fantastic speech year! Best of luck to our students competing at nationals this June; Arnav Bhakta, Emilia Sanz-Rios, Lakshmi Bogelli, Siya Saddi, Elijah Venetiou, Preston Wong, and Ayur Vallecha. And thank you to all Speech Team parents for your amazing support.

Results From Milton Academy's Foley Festival Tournament:

Children's Literature:

  • Ayur Vallecha, Honorable Mention
  • Phillip Ko
  • Rohit Ramineni


  • Angel Guo
  • Patrick Chen
  • Lakshmi Bogelli
  • Arnav Bhakta
  • Ashton Mota


  • Sudeep Chitrothu
  • Allie Zhang, 6th place
  • Anthony Kim

Dramatic Performance:

  • Hamzah Safri
  • Ilinca Hirtopanu, 1st place


  • Myra Bhathena & Kayla Lang, 9th place
  • Alice Fan & Vanessa Fan
  • Saisha Prabhakar & Maddy Ryan

Free Verse/Poetry:

  • Siya Saddi, 4th place
  • Elijah Venetiou, Honorable Mention
  • Emilia Sanz-Rios, 1st place
  • Evelyn Lewis, 2nd place


  • Ethan Lai, Honorable Mention
  • Arnav Bhakta, 5th place
  • Kenan Cakir

Original Oratory:

  • Ayur Vallecha, 1st place
  • Phillip Ko
  • John Moran
  • Rahul Ramineni


  • Isabella An
  • Scarlett Ruan, Honorable Mention
  • Emilia Sanz-Rios
  • Ashley Xu, Honorable Mention


  • Preston Wong
  • Vanessa Fan
  • Rebecca Yang
  • Zachary Rabold
  • Alexander Lho
  • German Sanz-Rios

Team Improv:

  • Myra Bhathena & Kayla Lang, 8th place
  • Patrick Chen & Zach Rabold
  • Preston Wong & Lakshmi Bogelli

Original Literature

  • Caleb Gerakaris, 1st place
  • Ilinca Hirtopanu, 3rd place